Launched in 2015, the FIM Women in Motorcycling Award has been created to recognise, reward and celebrate those who have significantly: contributed to improving and developing the presence of women in all motorcycling-related areas and/or encouraged greater awareness of women in motorcycling.



Candidates must use the dedicated online platform. Candidatures must be in English and should be submitted as soon as possible. The final deadline to send candidatures for 2019 award is 31 August 2019.


All candidatures will be examined by an independent jury composed of the Chairman of the FIM Awards and Recognition Board Committee, the CFM Director, the FIM Woman Legend of the current year and two independent experts appointed by the FIM. The Jury will first shortlist the three best candidatures – which will be published on the FIM website and Facebook pages. The Jury will then choose the winner from among those three candidatures.


The awardee will be invited to the annual FIM Gala Ceremony and will receive the award on stage. The award will be accompanied by a grant to support the winning project/initiative and will have the privilege to use the FIM Women in Motorcycling Award logo on all its related communications (print, web etc.).


This Award may be conferred on individuals, groups or organisations (e.g. Continental Unions, National Federations, motoclubs, organisers, promoters, circuit owners, manufacturers, teams etc.) who have made a significant contribution to enhancing awareness of women in motorcycling or who have implemented projects/initiatives to improve the presence of women in all motorcycling-related activities. These projects, initiatives or contributions can be related to sporting or non-sporting activities and should provide mid- or long-term solutions to help develop the presence of women in all motorcycling-related activities and have lasting effects and impacts on the awareness of women in motorcycling.

Join us on stage


The award may be granted for a single project, activity or initiative over the period 15 September 2018 to 1 September 2019. Nominations may be submitted by an National Federation (FMN), the person(s) involved in the activity or by a third party. The related National Federation should be informed of the candidature. Here are some examples of initiatives eligible for the FIM Women in Motorcycling Award (non exhaustive):

  • Increasing the level of female competitors in all disciplines

  • Creation of new competitions/classes for women

  • Increasing the number of female volunteers, officials, referees etc.

  • Organisation of training camps or seminars for female riders or officials

  • Innovations from industry/manufacturers dedicated to women

  • Safety work focusing on women

  • Promoting female role models and developing mentoring program

  • Etc...